Pseudo Review: DesignHamster

I’ve mentioned DesignHamster in an earlier post and have had a little time to play with it.  Here’s what I think about it at this point.

You start out with a fully editable index page, an accompanying stylesheet, an images folder with a few pics in it and not much more.  This is plenty to get started playing with and I found it easy to get started.

There doesn’t seem to be a WYSIWYG interface so unless you know the code it might be a bit daunting. Having experience with scripting, I didn’t find this to be that much of a handicap. The interface is more simple that I was hoping for though. I was anticipating some pretty cool bells and whistles, of which there were few.

One of the perks is that you can change sections within div tags to be editable by clients. The importance of this? Well I can’t tell you how many times I have had a client send me copy, I paste it in, only to send me the same thing again with a few minor and unmarked changes.  This makes it easier. The client can log on themselves and any area you have marked to be editable by them, they can change.

This makes it a good start on designer/client collaboration, though I wish it were a little more customizable than that.

It’s been billed as a Content Management System, which I guess in the loosest sense of the term it is.  What it seems more like to me is a fairly simple online editor.  There seems to be FTP access for it but I haven’t tried that out yet.

Summary

It’s probably great for a basic collaboration tool, and who knows, maybe the pro version has more features, but I don’t think I will use it for creating anything more than a simple play site.

One thought on “Pseudo Review: DesignHamster”

  1. Hi Cobey,

    Thanks for the review. I work at DesignHamster and would love to know what bells and whistles you would like to see. You also mentioned more customization. Could you elaborate on that?

    If you would like to email me instead, that would be great as well.

    Thanks!
    Wesley

Leave a Reply

